104 Lang Road,
Ontario Tourism Region : Kawartha and Northumberland
- Open daily Father's Day to Labour Day. Spring & fall hours vary (please visit website for details)
Description From Owner:
- Lang Pioneer Village Museum was established by the County of Peterborough in 1967 to celebrate and preserve the rural history of the area.
- Each year, thousands of visitors from around the world take a trip back in time to discover how the pioneers lived.
- Nestled along the banks of the historic Indian River, Lang Pioneer Village Museum features 30 restored and furnished buildings.
- Discover the history, language and culture of the Micchi Saagiig (Mississaguas) at Aabnaabin Camp.
- A photographer's paradise, the Village is complete with lanes and pathways, farm animals, rail and stump fences, vegetable and herb gardens, as well as other authentic details of a 19th century hamlet.
- Villagers of all ages, dressed in authentic historical costume, go about their daily chores contributing to the authenticity of this living history experience.
- See one of only a handful of working Jacquard looms in North America. This rare exhibit offers you the exceptional opportunity to see the workings of the loom closely from above on a mezzanine.
- The Village is the site of David Fife's 1820's log cabin. Fife was accredited with the discovery of Red Fife wheat in 1842.
- Red Fife wheat was ground into flour at the three-storey Lang Grist Mill. The limestone for the walls of this impressive structure came from the Indian River.
- Originally built in 1846, visitors can still see wheat ground into whole wheat flour throughout the summer at the Lang Grist Mill.
- During July & August, visitors can enjoy Afternoon Tea in the Keene Hotel located within the historic village (aditional fee).
- Special events are offered throughout the summer and fall. Please visit langpioneervillage.ca for event dates and details.
Address of this page: http://www.ruralroutes.com/langpioneervillage