299 St Andrew St. W.
Ontario Tourism Region : Huron, Perth, Waterloo and Wellington
Description From Owner:
- Pop. 8,410. In Nichol T., Wellington C., on the Grand R. and Hwy 6 and C. Rds. 18 & 19,22 km NW of Guelph.
- The town is named after Scottish lawyer Adam Fergusson, who came to Canada in 1831 to explore colonization possibilities for the Highland Society of Scotland.
- He returned two years later with six of his seven sons and another lawyer, James Webster. He bought 7,300 acres (2,956 ha) and laid out a townsite. The settlement was called Little Falls for a time but took the name Fergus when a post office opnd in 1836
- More than 200 19th¬century buildings remain in the town and the annual Fergus Highland Games, held on the second Saturday of August, are one of the best-attended Highland Games in North America
- The Fergus Curling Club, formed in 1834, has been in continuous operation longer than any other curling club in Ontario.
- The sport was played outdoors until 1879 when a covered rink was built. The pauper's grave of drunkard George Clephane draws visitors to Fergus from around the world.
- He is immortalized in the gospel song 'The Ninety and Nine' written by his sister Elizabeth.
Address of this page: http://www.ruralroutes.com/fergus